李錦記

2007/08/26

N70_photo1261

我住在宿舍裏。宿舍的每一層有一個廚房,除微波爐外,打開廚櫃,應有盡有,有吃剩沒人要的通心粉幾包,調味品幾樽,如果有天我冇錢開飯,淨食這些都夠我生存一個禮拜。竟然,發現有樽李錦記。

事源是這樣,昨天我參加International Graduate Student的迎新活動,其中一個節目很自然是主持諗每個國家的名字,然後那個國家的人起身,再坐下。起初,我還在想,究竟叫中國的時候我應不應站立呢?萬一,主持然後又叫香港,豈不是我要企兩次?但,如果不站立,又很怪。最後,主持為我解決了這個問題,她說「China, including Hong Kong」。我在想,在起身的時候,要抓緊機會認出香港人,不過,看來,沒有了。

本來到這裏以前已經知道這裏少香港人,但五月時到過加州,四週都看見亞洲人聽見廣東話,就以為東岸其實都不相伯仲。可是,真係冇!於是那天的orientation裏,我說了很多很多普通話,我說得爛之餘別人也聽不懂,本來有很多東西想問,可都因為言語不通而減去了。當然少香港人是好事,很多人也告誡我交左咁多學費就不要群埋廣東話人,免得倒頭來甚麼都學不成,嗯,所以呢,我還要繼續努力用外語搭訕。

離題了,上圖的李錦記,是那個用了一天國語的晚上,在廚房見到的。第一個反應是,咦!有香港人!第二個反應是,支野鋪曬塵,就算有,早就走了。

7 回應 to “李錦記”

  1. Alex Says:

    新加坡人都係半個廣東話人…唔好將RI同CA比啦,CA根本唔正常地多Asians,其他states 唔會咁架。

    講開又講,李錦記真係自廚必需品。

  2. 惡女 Says:

    咦,我又第一?
    聽到你講李錦記,都覺得有少少孤獨感。
    加油呀你。

  3. winson Says:

    其實, 有好多地方都有李錦記賣

  4. Yun Says:

    > 但五月時到過加州,四週都看見亞洲人聽見廣東話,就以為東岸其實都不相伯仲

    No no no. Even in CA, only SF is dominated by Cantonese-speaking Chinese, elsewhere I think mandarin speakers are more common.

    Brown… I think not only not too many Cantonese, I don’t think they even have too many Asian Americans? But yea, that would be actually a good thing, it forces you to get out of your comfort zone and to know other people. I grew up in SF, it’s kind of a bad thing, because everywhere you will meet some Cantonese speakers, there’s not much of need to speak English. I had to make a deliberate decision later on in my life that I need to improve my English… anyway. hehe.

    李錦記… some American supermarkets carry them now. (At least in SF.)

  5. cheryl Says:

    國語跟普通話兒不一樣啊,你要學哪?? ^^

    take it easy啦,cultural shock係唔係都有o架喇,不過keep your heart open to everything啦,自然可以埋推。唔明咪問囉,由其大家都係international多d嘢講o架(唔係d pampered local多數睬你都傻)。比心機玩喇,記住party隊酒,呢個係個好重要嘅環節… ^o^

    (嘩乜你帶咁多嘢去食? 我之前咩都冇帶去…淨係帶即食麵…同酒囉 =p)

  6. Justin Says:

    惡女:其實唔單止係李錦記,呢度,好似連老麥同家鄉雞都未見到有!!

    Winson: 如果加州,就實有啦。但呢度,就未必。

    Yun: Yeah! there aren’t many chinese(even asian) here, so, ha! it would be a great experience for me to learn english, though painful. I will work hard!

    Chryl: 我乜野食都冇帶去,圖裏面既,係dormitory既廚櫃。

  7. meng Says:

    其實在海外的華人都用李錦記呀..決不只是香港人用.


發表迴響

