雜記

2007/09/04

是日也,九月三日,九月的第一個星期一,乃係美國勞工日,冚世界勞工休息一天,不過,今日冇三百蚊津貼。

其實假日與否對學生來說也沒甚麼意義,反正假日是可以製造的,相反地,工作日亦可以自製,類似地,我們還可提供假夜和工作夜,各從其至,任君選擇。

給各方好友睇死我會故態復萌地晨昏顛倒,大家實在太了解我,今日十時起床,上網,然後睡覺去,輾轉至點半才離開睡床,其實我都不想,只是覺得太累。

好了好了,也累積夠內疚,來這裏的機會成本是千幾蚊港幣一日,不做些少有益有建設性的事怎能對得住江東父老?草草吃過午飯,便番回辦公室工作。

大概工作了個多小時,聽說九月初是這城市一年一度大減價,但我說過我這一年要慳錢,盡量減少購物,其實我也有足夠多的衣服,不過著了整整一年的stan smith快要穿底,又想到我要到At&t出張電話卡,唉唉唉,還是跟同學們走到downtown去。

廿九個九是最平的月費計劃,只包二百分鐘,應該夠用,但其實都幾很貴,圍埋港幣二百幾,我在香港的3G連gprs連隧道費也不用二百,如果每月只用二百分鐘,幾十蚊買張儲值卡還要化算。最大的問題是,所謂的大公司At&t,在商場的某些商鋪裏都是沒有訊號的死角,這種情況於香港跟本無法接受,但,馬死落地行,沒一個隨身的電話號碼實在太麻煩,這些錢還是要花的。

在商場裏行行企企,盡量避免走入商鋪,唔想咁快開齋,還是入過幾間鋪,Levis平過香港,GAP亦唔太貴,上得山多終遇虎,走過幾間波鞋店,眾裏尋它千百度,竟然給我找到stan smith(按觀察北美不太流行stan smith,大概因為外國人身型龐大,著stan smith不好看,他們都愛穿籃球鞋),還有折扣,連稅五十蚊,想也沒多想就買了,因為著慣,實岩。這是我第四對stan smith。開齋了。

然後走到間家庭用品店,大概就是一間中高級的實惠,走著想著,其實有很多東西可以買,如枱燈呀茶几呀洗衣籃呀書桌呀書枱呀椅子呀,通通都可以買,而家都會有用。今日店裏也有很多似是學生的人,一袋二袋地拎走,似是為了怖置自己的新居,感覺就像,九月初沙田的宜家,撞口撞面是宿舍的人。住過四年宿舍,其實已很清楚必要的跟多舊魚的,其實除洗衣籃外其他通通都是不必要的,沒有了最多造成些少不便,但,還可以啦。省下十塊八塊,食左佢仲好。

忍得住手不買,晚上還做了個貪小便宜的人,扯衫尾跟同學到學校的Dining hall去吃飯,我沒有買學校的meal plan,因為人人都說學校的食物難食。補習小朋友說他在英國寄宿學校的食物難吃的要命,全是沒有味的雞肉和薯仔。但,這裏卻是美國喎,在外面買面包很貴,動輒要六七蚊,份量不夠大食的我填肚。我就想試試看,因為知道學校飯堂是任食的。同學們每個學年都有一些請客的quota,本來打算今天請我,可是門口的姐姐卻說現在還沒有開學,不可以用那配額,我問如果俾錢要幾多,她說十二個六毫五,嘩!在我正打算跟同學道別之際,姐姐說,其實同學可以把食物帶走,那麼我們可以一齊吃,還叫我一齊進去拿食物。她這樣暗示,我當然明白啦,過左海就是神仙,飯堂裏要有幾百人,佢又得鬼閒理我,正所高打工仔心理(呀,我又想走今日雲換燈泡的故事,錢事少,卻好開心)。進去以後,我簡直瘋了,因為,有很多很多肉,對呀!是任食的肉!牛肉豬肉雞肉,任食呀!汽水咖啡任飲呀!對了對了,我會買學校的meal plan。

吃飽食足,也真真正正地累積夠內疚了。回到辦公室裏,繼續讀披爬去。

未幾,有人拍門,是位新來的PhD學生。吹了些水,他首先介紹了他做的研究,大概是Programming Language的Visualization,我立即想起了我fyp的老細,她也是做類似的東西,我的畢業習作,正正是叫Making Pictures from Text,有了些共同背景,跟他吹了好一陣子。

然後,他反問我正在做的東西,於是,我在白板上,把九月底要做的簡報,給他講了一遍,他好像聽得懂,或者是扮聽得懂,但起碼,他一邊聽,一邊問過些關事的問題,咁,唔知係我講得好,還是他聰明呢。

雖然今天還沒有讀得完一整份披爬,但就做了一遍表演,還可以把。僅此記念美國勞工日,明天繼續努力。

N70_photo1267

5 回應 to “雜記”

  1. Yun Says:

    After the labor day weekend, I’m feeling even more tired. 😦

    Levis, I think the styles here are different from Asia. (meaning not as good.) Gap, poor material. But I would go for their pants. Cheap.

    I will give you some tips when shopping here:
    1. don’t buy clothes unless it’s on sale! They will go on sale eventually.

    2. it’s very common to return or exchange here. of course, it should be in the item’s original form and unused. (yea, I was lucky in my light bulb case.) So, if you were having a hard time to decide whether or not you want to buy something, don’t kill yourself over that. You can always buy it and think about it more at home. I usually ended up returning them. 😛 Different store has different returning/exchanging polices, it’s common to ask about what the policies are.

    3. price adjustment: I think this probably only applies to apparel stores. If you bought something say $40; but a week later you found that the price had dropped to $20!! Then, you had your price adjusted to get $20 back! Usually the stores allow two weeks. Always keep your receipts. But, if it had passed the two weeks period, and you hadn’t worn the cloth, you still can return it and buy it again at the cheaper price!! 🙂

    Okay. I think this is enough. Hehe.

  2. C.M. Says:

    雖雜,但絕對鄧你開心!

  3. Justin Says:

    Yun: Thx for sharing~ Luckily I still hv the receipt.

    Here, the style does not suit Asian, Americans are usually fat and tall, and Asian is usually thinner and shorter, and I am thinner(and shorter) than an average Asian, the cutting here does not suit me. Usually, I will go to japanese store for clothes, so now, good for me, i will have less chance to spend money~~~

    CM: 謝謝呀!也開始習慣了這裏。

  4. Yun Says:

    Oh, I’m not sure about men’s clothing, but for women, most of the brands now carry petite sizes that’s tailored to 5′-5’4″ heights. Good for me! Hehe. But again, maybe it’s because I’m in CA, not sure how available it is in RI.

  5. Justin Says:

    I am not sure if it is really the case that there is no clothes suits me…. I shall do some research…. ahah…. but, no shopping no shopping no shopping…………..


發表迴響

