Starbuckish accent

2007/11/28

中六時常參加聯校活動,希望廣結良朋更想追求窈窕的倩影,然而那時候聯來聯去都是維港兩岸的所謂傳統名校,開會的地方不外乎老麥(以山林道尤為出名)和城大飯堂,示乎參加的學校的地區而定。偶爾對面海的學校多了,就不得不過海開會去。

那時候我總覺得對面海的女校的同學很有米,開會要不是在Delifrance就是Oliver,又或者是老星。前兩者其實還可以,它們不過是比正常的老麥餐貴些少,那些食物味道不錯,也夠靜,侍應又不會趕人。

可是頭幾次到老星真是嚇人的經驗。甫進咖啡店,抬起頭,望見一堆堆雞腸,甚麼甚麼cappuccino呀mocha呀latte呀我完全分不清,望望價錢,嘩,一杯咖啡使唔使廿幾蚊咁Q貴,去花園餐廳已經食到個學生餐!當然在陌生的女同學面前又要故作振定,仲要懶有風度問埋人地飲咩。到櫃面買咖啡時花光費力都讀不出咖啡名字,還好那年間蕭雅軒的cappuccino唱得街知巷聞,那叫cappuccino好了。 但那個店員明顯知我第一次幫襯,不知是否存心玩野竟還問我要咩曬屎落要唔要syrup,short/tall/grande我鬼識咁多咩!用十分之一秒再掃一掃價錢牌發覺原來大中細差唔多錢,咁咪同個姐姐講話要GRAND既CAPPUCCINO(咁我諗住同grand hyatt一樣,大杯啲就grand啲),點知呢位姐姐就用左老星獨一無二既accent同水吧果位哥哥唱左一句iced grand-day capPUCCIno,果位哥哥又好似唱山歌咁覆述左同一樣野。對於一個讀英文中學並且會考英文口語攞C既中六學生黎講,讀錯GRANDE呢個字(仲要响女同學面前)簡直係其此大辱,於是我立志要學識講一口流利英文,起碼响老星叫野飲時唔會出醜。

香港的老星由美心集團經營,他們是首個在香港經營連鎖式咖啡店的公司,旨在推行咖啡文化,把三十幾蚊一杯的咖啡合理化。翻起老星的小冊子,在介紹不同咖啡之餘,也特別提及他們員工所用的獨特發音,憑著這種特別(或怪異)的發音,使他們變得與眾不同。我們買咖啡時,若非用他們的口音去叫咖啡,就好像自己叫錯了(或者係唔識講英文)一樣,明顯是美心集團看準了香港人於英語覇權的自卑心理,權力的分野,品味的高低,亦由此而來。

而事實上,我發覺,似乎只有香港的老星才有這種特別的accent。在台灣和上海,餐牌上竟然有中文(看見時我心裏即暗笑,顯然美心集團的策略成功,我中曬毒),我以流利的英文對店員說iced grande americano時他亦只以中文响店員轉述。在美國,店員們好像連覆述也懶得做,只拿起筆在紙杯上剔剔寫寫,然後把紙杯放到水吧算數。

無可否認,美心的策略很成功。由交易廣場開始,七年間,老星已經突破了沙田這條警戒線,分店向北進發到屯門和羅湖了。現在人人都飲咖啡,上咖啡館使人看似較有文化,相信Starbuckish accent的功勞非輕。

(時而世易,話咁快又過左六個寒暑,老星烚我唔識野的日子不再,離港前的個幾月,一天,在家裏突然想起老星的雞肉薯蓉批,我竟然打電話到APM叫店員給我留一個,我話我夜晚七點之前黎攞。)

16 回應 to “Starbuckish accent”

  1. 鴉天狗 Says:

    香港飲starbucks = =" 同我係加拿大飲starbucks完全係兩回事
    所以我真係非常地唔鐘意係香港飲starbucks

  2. Yun Says:

    Justin! I ban Starbucks ow! I wanted to tell you the last time you talked about it but I held myself… Well, I guess I couldn’t this time. 😛

    They are selling branding, the coffee suck! But I must say, they got excellent market strategies! Ten years ago, I don’t think there’s any Starbucks here (SF), but now, they are everywhere!

    There are a lot of excellent small coffee shop here. When you get a chance, you should try them out, less expensive too. Or better yet, drink fair-traded coffee please. Or or or… don’t drink coffee! It’s bad for you. Yea yea yea, it’s hard cause you are in school. But I’m really try to not drink now… actually, I can’t take the caffeine anymore (wuu… I’m getting old…) so most of time I have to drink decaf… aiii…

    Hehe… 🙂

  3. Pat Says:

    連黃大仙地鐵站也可以兩個出口各有一間。

  4. Cassio Says:

    well because it’s spelt grande, not grand

    and as far as i can tell it’s not english :p

  5. 黑人 Says:

    其實我對於佢地d 唸口簧幾反感
    滲左港式口音,又要裝腔作勢,成件事cheap 晒
    所以去親starbucks,通常都會用英文落單,扮鬼
    佢地對住鬼佬會收斂d

  6. 三點 Says:

    -->把三十幾蚊一杯的咖啡合理化

    超認同,我到宜家都覺得佢哋啲咖啡好鬼貴,其實可能係我唔識欣賞。


  7. 好奇怪
    向日本果陣我晚晚飲咖啡
    返黎就唔飲


    我都老喇~~~~

  8. Fiona Says:

    fair-trade coffee does taste better and it doesn’t rip you off like starbucks does but for some odd reason, I still like starbucks better, perhaps cause we have it in like 3 out of 4 steetcorners in Vancouver

    it’s grand-day cause it’s in italian, i think…i m not a lot better..the first time i said it, i thought it was in french and said GRAWN…and the person taking the order just repeated the same thing but said grand-day instead..-_-

  9. Lo Says:

    Starbuckish accent,
    令我諗起 味精拉麵 的企圖素做日式店鋪的 I ra syai ma se 改成 Ya sai ma se.

    折然不同!

  10. 黑人 Says:

    日式料理店果句歡迎更加變到不知所謂:「234!」或者「yo 生蛇!」

  11. Justin Says:

    鴉天狗:係?香港americano既味道同美國係一模一樣喎!

    Yun: I agree they have got excellent marketing skills. There is one fair trade coffee near my dorm, I usually go for it when i am working in the dorm. But… ahah (i know, it is only an excuses), starbucks is only 1 mins from my office……

    I like starbucks!!!!

    Pat: 乜領匯咁利害!

    Cassio: Knowing that in french, there is usually no sound for the last vowel, I was thinking that not to pronounce the “e" in the end.

    黑人:嘿!我試過用英文落單,佢應我中文囉!!

    三點:我覺得,三十幾蚊,係包埋買個位坐同埋睇曬佢地既報紙。

    七十樓姐姐:點解人人都話大個左就唔會飲?唔通,你地訓得少唔會覺得眼訓?

    Fiona: OH!!! Italian!!!! The Italian invented the expresso machine!!!!

    So, Venti is also italian?

    Lo: haha!! 所以咪精拉面既marketing咪冇老星咁好囉!

  12. 鴉天狗 Says:

    味道的確係一樣 (同一張配方出嘅有機會我沖比你飲XD)
    不過係加拿大我會好enjoy坐係startbucks做功課嘅時間, 但係hk我唔會
    而且對上一次我叫ice mocha佢冇加whip cream,
    我講咗句whip cream please換嚟一句"吓"次之後…
    我就對hk嘅starbucks嘅印像大打折扣…

    btw… it’s indeed italian… venti means twenty in italian…
    and fyi, it is called venti becouse the drink is 24oz (so it goes over 20)

  13. readandeat Says:

    我也試過不懂怎樣叫,人家問我 size,我呆了不懂怎答,唯有面慒地問grand即係幾大。

  14. Justin Says:

    鴉天狗:oic~~ seems like they have trademarked the word Venti.

    Read&Eat: 咪係囉small/medium/large咪好好地囉,做乜要short/tall/grande呢!

  15. dreaminning Says:

    I don’t see what is the problem for nor knowing the size. Everyone will be a first time buyer once.
    Since I’m not a big fan of Starbuck, so seldom go there. but i remember the last time i was there, I just ask them what’s the different. So they show me the different cup size, quite friendly…………….ar, I never visit Starbuck in Hong Kong though=P

  16. Justin Says:

    I felt a little bit insulted probably because they were speaking english, I simply felt like an idiot. At the same time, this shows the superiority of the coffee shop. That’s why i am saying that this is Maxim’s strategy.


發表迴響

