迎賓週

2008/08/28

本星期三四五為敝系迎賓週。研究院的迎賓活動當然沒有本科生的多姿多科,大部份都是教授們的講座,他們介紹自己的研究方向,以吸引學生。

這年有很多中國學生,遠比去年多。去年有三個台灣一個香港一個大陸,今年有五六七個內地的新生,似是沒有香港台灣。外邊傳聞說,啡大的電腦系從來不收直接從內地的大學生,不過負責收生的教授說,這年間中國學生的水準提高了不少(對對對,去年有一個很優秀的,好像還是姓葉的⋯⋯),所以多收了中國學生。

看見新來的中國學生們,慣性地圍在一起,自不然想起一年前的時光。

一年過得真快。還記得一年前來到這裏,覺得美國同學都不甚友善,他們不太會跟你說話,於是頭一兩星期我都只是跟大中華同學一起。不過,一年相處下年他們其實都很好,只是不太會跟外族溝通,慢慢開始就沒有問題。好運的還有我去年的辦公室很大地埋位置亦好,於是成為了同學們的common room,日見夜見,順理成章地漸漸熟落起來了。

15 回應 to “迎賓週”

  1. 塞米 Says:

    好啦,我認我心邪,見到你呢篇個topic真係愕左一下….(笑)

    我都覺得澳洲的原住民很友善,相對某些民族而言,很會主動幫忙/找你幫忙,最差的(其實通常不會那麼壞啦)也不會對你呼喝。

    我是真的很想知道,鬼佬歧視Asian呢個statement是哪來的根據? 我在美加澳都唔覺喎…可能我見識太表面啦。

  2. Leon Says:

    姓葉的也有很多壞蛋,想不想我舉例﹖

  3. Leon Says:

    哈哈﹗

  4. etranger Says:

    我都同你相反
    當年覺得大中華同學成日埋堆
    我敬而遠之

    而且台灣的
    很喜歡強人所難
    北京的
    也不見得友善

  5. Justin Says:

    塞米:我覺得有少數同學係有點點歧視的。但,整體來說,唔覺。

    Leon: 葉繼歡,葉銘琛⋯⋯

    Etranger: 埋堆很自然的,身在異鄉,有人同聲同氣,感覺會好一點。

    不過,我又覺得,既然咁遠來到,點解唔盡量見識一下呢。

  6. bravo Says:

    For discrimination… hm, I guess it depends on which city you are in and at which level of interaction you are experiencing. Sometimes, they might not even be conscious about it. Because of different cultural expectation, they for example may interpret some of the Chinese more subtle approach as a sign of incompetence, they will choose people they are familiar with first, or scare local people more as they know where to complain, etc..

  7. 塞米 Says:

    講返華人,其實香港人跟台灣人,或者跟大陸人(wherever啦話之你來自潮洲四川黑龍江)相處,整體來看香港人是很丟假的 : 太唯我中心,太強調自己的一套,沒有對別人的交流興趣甚至禮儀等等,每每提起一些大陸人,香港的朋友老板起一副刻薄的咀臉 : 哎,佢呀,好鬼市儈架成日想屈你錢架。真實的情況是你跟華語的人相處,語氣上不親近一點也不會讓對方低沽你的身份。作為一個香港人(其實這個名銜要扮到有幾ABC都撇不了),是不是該學懂一下謙卑,學懂一下莫以小人之心度別人之腹?…

  8. Silence Says:

    Which state/city are you in? I am in midwest and there are comparatively less Chinese students. I have met some nice American students but some girls are very bitchy……

  9. eric Says:

    個人觀感啦:後生既,讀過下書既,會好DD。年紀大D既就差少少,會歧視多D。
    仲有係歐陸歧視問題比美加澳嚴重,不過佢地連美國人都歧視,嫌佢地又cheap又俗。。。其他既就唔使多講。。。

  10. Justin Says:

    bravo: some ppl say there are more discrimination in the south than the north in the states. though, the statement itself is kind of a discrimination.

    塞米:那麼你覺得我謙卑不?

    Silence: I am in Providence / Rhode Island. i browsed your page, you are from kansas? I hv been there in may last year.

    Eric: 美國其實算唔錯。佢地國家裏面咁多種族,國民由細到大習慣同唔同既人相處。我試過响波蘭,入間餐廳食飯,啲侍應見我係黃種人就"miu"咀"miu"舌。

  11. 塞米 Says:

    Justin : 我不知道呀,我們素未謀面……單從言辭來看應該是很好相處吧 🙂

  12. Silence Says:

    Providence / Rhode Island? Brown University? 😛
    Which part of Kansas did you go? My school is located in Lawrence. It’s a very typical “university town", nothing interesting…

  13. bravo Says:

    Yes, definitely. People are usually not deliberately discriminating, I believe. There are many cultural misunderstanding here, such that we inadvertently offend each others. The minority group will feel being discriminated. …. But if one belongs to the minority, life is difficult, isn’t it?

  14. Justin Says:

    塞米:希望現實既我亦係如此!

    Silence: yes. Brown. I indeed went to University of Kansas with my uncle, he wanted to show what does a typical american university looks like~

    Bravo: Yes. The word minority itself is quite (to me, at least) discriminatory, one has to be tough to get it over.

  15. 塞米 Says:

    咪講到自己現實中好唔友善咁啦…


發表迴響

