求職不是求分數

2010/02/22

上星期,見老細,佢問我想要幾錢。

那是今年的暑期工。我最快年底才能畢業,期間有一段段的空檔,總得做些事打發時間。

阿老細知我心思思想做微軟谷歌萬國,怕我一去冇回頭,於是反建議我去佢度做煙腸。

其實跟本沒有煙腸不煙腸,那公司技術部門大部份人我都識,不外乎是老細以前的𡃁、老細以前的𡃁以前的𡃁、老細朋友的𡃁⋯⋯

暑期工的內容也早決定,就是把我研究技術轉移到他公司的系統裏。在不同的測試項目上,比萬國的軟件快好很多倍。所以值錢。

本來他打算自己重寫一次的,傻咩,那是六萬八千行C++。要我由頭寫一次也起碼要花一個月,更何況是日理萬雞的老細。

於是,佢問我想要幾錢,佢問我覺得這樣值幾錢。

其實我都不知道這樣值幾錢。我知道在遠東的小城裏,做電腦不值錢。可是,我又知道在舊金山附近的山野間,做電腦超值錢。在那裏掘過金的同學都說,其實,到底,他們都不明白為甚麼自己值那幾個錢。

老細公司初起步,我問會否一年內資金不足而收皮,要麼我一年後畢業,冇著落就大擰樂。老細語帶囂張地說使乜驚,剛剛籌期籌夠兩球美金,有錢有面今年可以放心請人。

當然,米國乜都貴,兩球唔搣得幾耐。

所以話到明一定冇谷歌微軟萬國的高。

最後求其開價回價再回價然後求其同意了個人工,明顯比佢預期為低,不過這只是三個月煙腸我冇乜所謂。

事後,其實我不快了好一陣子,因為沒有optimize自己的待遇。

到底這還是我第一次認真地處理工資這問題。工作內容既定,人工當然愈高愈好。我想到自己的機會成本,不斷在算我選擇做老細公司每個月所「犧牲」的人工,愈諗愈心酸。

雖然我口裏常說錢不是很重要,不過它作為這樣容易quantify的東西,就像打機的分數,愈高愈有成就感,試過通宵玩踩地雷的朋友們一定體會箇中真諦。

講到分數,講到贏,其實我都很著緊。

也分不清,究竟不快是因為錢唔夠多,抑或是人工唔夠高。

寫這篇文,其實,也是想提醒自己,錢唔係最重要的。

25 回應 to “求職不是求分數”

  1. Says:

    錢雖然唔係最重要, but that’s a way of measure how much your boss appreciate you and treasure what you bring into the company.

    Employers will always want to pay you the minimum and keep you around. Do know your market before negotiate. As long as you aren’t asking way too much, it’s better to ask a little more than what you expect. Cuz they can always counter you back. And so what if you asked for more, they are not going to not hire you because you just ask for a little more… I mean, if you do have something that they want to offer.

  2. Says:

    你屋企又唔係等住你養,唔駛諗咁多

    第一份工之嘛

    之後你轉一份,加100%既咪得囉
    現實中大把人係咁

    • Justin Says:

      Rationally, i know this…..

      this salary is really minuscule, even I bargain hard I won’t get much more….

      但心障難擋!

  3. cheukhang Says:

    你好野!又反高潮…


  4. 其實到最後可能都係錢最重要,但我計嘅數同一般好唔同:

    1)可以現下quantify的,就是Total Compensation,亦即基本加可變花紅其他如認股權。其他如Fringe Benefit 等都是錢。

    2)之後係啲無形嘅嘢,如品牌(做過大公司),工時(投行工時長最快burn out),公司前景同晉昇可能等。

    3)最後(but not least)就係工作滿意度和公司如何令你盡展所長。谷歌就做到了:

    “And engineers still get to devote 20% of their time to projects of their choosing. "

    別以為這不是錢,公司能令你發揮最大的創意與生產力,再在環境上照顧員工,這公司才最有前途。

    • Justin Says:

      The last point is really important, that I get paid to do what I like.

      嘿嘿。我老細氹我話可以有一半時間做自己研究⋯⋯

      雖然我覺得佢老吹。邊有咁筍。

  5. 小瓶子 Says:

    有无share options 派?

  6. RandomCoil Says:

    So long it is enough for you to survive is ok lar…?

    There is a reason why salary package is called COMPENSATIONS!

    This is used to compensate our unhappiness/unwillingness/shit… we have to deal with at work!

    So if the salary is low, the work better be very interesting and exciting… and I better have freedom to do things that I like…

    That I think is much more important than money…

    (Yeah… probably I am the type that WILL be exploited by the employers… but why should I care how much he makes from me or my work?!)

    • Justin Says:

      I just argue from another direction.

      No matter how, that is the job I want to get because it will be fun.

      I am going to work hard anyway. So why don’t I bargain a bit more and get an extra 500 bucks?

      • RandomCoil Says:

        True true… there is nothing wrong to get higher paid if we could… Just that I am never good at that (although I can bargain quite hard for equipement and stuff…)

        I remember a couple of years back… I read this survey saying that female academics on average earns 30% less than their male counterparts basically just because females are not ‘used to’ salary negotiation… So maybe there is really a gender/cultural difference in how we view this matter? (I am not trying to imply causation btw).

        BTW… I think my mom would say we don’t do well in negotiating our salaries because we study too much!!! LOL!

  7. 媽媽阿四 Says:

    哈哈哈祝你呢個無價寶一世冇發達 😉

    不過follow passion還follow passion,俾人gum又真係好屈住屈住喎

  8. tintinbright Says:

    哈哈, 煙腸是否你們4G人的潮語, 看完全文才知是intern 🙂

    以下非行內人的observation, 有很多非關於錢卻又可能很值錢的:
    1 “快IBM不知多少倍的軟件", 嘩大哥,呢樣嘢值錢噃. Google創辦人當年同Yahoo拍門時都好似如似講噃 :)不過我着眼點會在張
    Resume上. 行家自會知你此Project堅唔堅. 你叫你老細寫reference加多兩錢肉緊, 相信對下一個job有助
    2 留意身邊有否可以齊齊發圍高手
    3 如打機般, 現階段是收集武器,秘技的時侯. 集齊武器, 過版更易, 還可跳版,將來高D bidding price咪又係一條數

  9. unkle4 Says:

    Fight for a far better salary & shares when you take up the perm post 🙂

    Do protect your own innovation!

  10. Gordon Says:

    呢篇野令我諗番岩岩入行,老細又係叫我開價,結果我好大方咁開低2-3k…結果到依家撈左年半都未加過人工…TMD

  11. MIT Says:

    「比萬國的軟件快好很多倍。」是吹水還是實力,要試過至知。
    SAMPLE得的結果,現實可能行唔通,試過先至知高下。
    如果你用一個月時間真的可以將系統優化,比萬國快好多倍…..
    重有,只有你寫到,人地現時寫唔到…..
    到時是老細想辦法留你,再開價也不遲…..
    要看你的實力!
    三個月比你展示實力,錢是多是少,根本不須放在心上,當多做一份final year project是也。哈哈!

  12. John Says:

    Agree with MIT
    How much you get for 煙腸 is not important. It’s only 3 months. Let’s say you get 25 more than now, it’s only 10% more annually. It’s better to “Lion open big mouth" when the real offer come.

    haha

  13. Echo Says:

    我自己都有諗一個business idea,帶左去學校傾,都持續左快1年,當然我又冇你咁勁,我只係負責設計個package,細緻野如寫軟件就做唔到,所以豆零都冇囉,不過玩得幾開心,一日未被人ban 我都會持續落去架。
    有時做研究/發明,往往往是發展機會緊要過收入,最終可以推出市場/達到自己想要既目的,果種滿足感幾多錢都買唔到,祝你個研究有突破,咁之後就想要什麼,有什麼。

  14. Justin Says:

    RandomCoil: I read a similar article recently too. It doesn’t only apply to academia, but also in general, that female get paid less because there are less involved in the bargaining process.

    mama4: 唉!好明顯阿老細肯比多五百的,但果下我又唔知點解冇出聲!!

    tintinbright: 「煙腸」呢個term,據我所知,第一次既文獻記載係來自《龍咁威》第一集。

    我揀呢條路,都係因為你所講既幾個原因。

    unkle4: I will, for sure!

    Gordon: 係呀。好識其他人都係咁⋯⋯

    MIT: 就即管睇下夏天過後有乜野睇啦。

    John: Yeah! I hope I will be doing better next time.

    Echo: For most software engineer, writing the program is kind of a trivial task. It is more of less a 揼石仔 work. The idea itself is most important.

    I agree with you that the process of implementing an idea is so much fun!


  15. […] Leave a comment Go to comments The last two entries Justin wrote were both about job and money. Being a reseacher earns peanuts compare to a lot of other jobs… So, why I wanna be a […]


  16. […] a comment » 煙腸這詞是從Justin那裡學的。 […]

  17. hevangel Says:

    駛乜同老細慳錢﹐反正如果收得高唔請你﹐你又唔驚冇其他工做。

  18. Justin Says:

    就即管睇下到時佢出幾錢啦。


發表迴響

